17 Mar - 2 April 2018



The Lorne Sculpture Biennale is professionally managed but with minimum administrative costs, and is steered by a professional volunteer committee:


Lindy Joubert: President

Graeme Wilkie: Vice President

Karen Pitt: Treasurer


Sicca van Schaardenburg

Janet Barton

Emma Doy

Kate Kirkhope

Graeme Williams



Lindy Joubert: President & Artistic Sub Committee

Lindy Joubert, is a senior lecturer in Architecture at the University of Melbourne, a designer/artist and a Founding Director of the UNESCO Observatory of Arts Education. Lindy was a consultant at UNESCO Headquarters in Paris and is the current Vice President of the World Craft Council - South Pacific and she leads community building teams across cultures. She has held thirty-six international exhibitions including six in New York City and is the Editor-in-Chief of the UNESCO e-journal.


Graeme Wilkie: Vice President & Artistic Sub Committee

Graeme Wilkie has trained in ceramic studios around the world with over 40 years of working with clay. Wilkie’s passion for the medium has evolved into the sculptural realm in concept and scale, challenging perceptions of expression in fired clay. His ongoing pursuit of aesthetics led to him establishing Qdos Arts, a gallery and sculpture garden offering the scope to bring a greater diversity of cultural events to Lorne. Of the 200 odd exhibitions mounted at Qdos over the past 24 years, numerous acclaimed artists, musicians and performers have been seen. The three-acre setting in the thick towering eucalypts features a decorative pond surrounded by works of our leading sculptors. Wilkie was a member of the seminal team that established the Lorne Sculpture Exhibition.


Karen Pitt: Treasurer

Karen Pitt has over 30 years’ experience as a legal advisor to not-for-profit organisations, most recently as General Counsel for Copyright Agency/Viscopy. In that role, Karen helped establish efficient and compliant systems for management of the Australian Resale Royalty for Visual Artists Scheme and has mentored emerging creators organisations in the Asia Pacific region.


Sicca van Schaardenburg: Secretary

Originally from the Netherlands, Sicca has been in Australia since 1982. She has extensive administrative and event management experience, although mainly in Equestrian sporting events including the 2000 Sydney Olympics, she has a keen interest in the arts. Sicca was treasurer for the 2014 Lorne Sculpture Biennale and, together with Marion Church, managed the volunteer program during the recent 2016 event.


Janet Barton

Janet is the Director of her company, Customer Driven Change Consulting Services, that specialises in providing operational and practical expertise in developing and implementing business and organisational change strategies and plans, managing complex, challenging organisational change programs to successful conclusion, and managing a large number of people to deliver significant results. Her industry experience covers finance, travel and entertainment, industrial, pharmaceutical, retail, telecommunications, information and communications, IT, government enterprise, utilities, not-for-profit and service sectors. She has extensive board and committee experience and currently she is President of the Wine and Food Society of Victoria and since joining the Committee in 1998, she has served in multiple roles such as Secretary, Treasurer, Vice President, Wine and Food Master.


Emma Doy

Emma has been a freelance Graphic Designer for over a decade, and worked as an Exhibition Designer at the National Gallery of Australia for 8 years. Emma moved to Melbourne in 2015 to pursue interests in environmental and social change including returning to university to study these subjects, and to immerse herself in various projects that embrace such issues. Emma has always had a passion for creativity, community, and engaging meaningfully with nature, including as a volunteer across National Parks in the ACT assisting visitors to deepen their appreciation of the local environment and its long history.


Kate Kirkhope

Kate is a retired vigneron/general manager of wineries in the Yarra Valley and Bellarine Peninsula, specialising in natural viticulture and winemaking with a conservation focus. Apart from her hands on business experience, Kate enjoys artistic pursuits of pastel and acrylic art, acoustic guitar, languages, and writing.


Graeme Williams: Artistic Sub Committee

Graeme is a retired architect and has had a long association with the visual arts as a collector, plus hands-on involvement in a number of art events, including initiating and running a successful Artist Luncheon series and an Annual Arts Dinner. Graeme is former deputy Chairman of the Contempora Sculpture Prize, curator of the Melbourne Savage Club Biennale Art Prize from 2001-2013 and he has acted as judge for the Maritime Art Prize since 2012. His Master of Arts research degree involved a socio-cultural reading of a major art collection. He is a current Doctoral candidate (Art/Cultural History) at Federation University and a member of Conseil International des Musées.